Can’t get no peace?

Leave a comment

December 6, 2013 by urbanhealthjunkie

Yoga with TabithaCity living ain’t easy! Wow, we are part of such a heady and noisy world, replete with distractions at every turn. It can often find a way of worming it’s way in and grabbing the attention of my more my superficial nature.

And sometimes I’m suddenly awake at night lost in endless loops of thought. That’s when my monkey mind suddenly jumps out of its cage with full force bearing its big shiny teeth, and a whole load of unproductive and mindless chatter begins.

Sometimes, whilst the night buses pass by my bedroom window with their gloom, I’m going over stuff that I’ve said or done which I know is totally futile as in the end it just perpetuates self-obsession. Worse, I really believe that if I don’t make an effort to cage the monkey, it has the power to start preventing me from connecting deeply, with loving care, to myself, others and the world around me.

It’s a comfort to know that I’m not the only one who’s monkey has been running wild, yet I’m not willing to indulge it further as I believe that our jumping, chattering minds have the power to deplete our energy and the energy of those around us. It also blocks our intuition and ability to feel what‘s really going on within and around us. Yogis, Buddhists, people who meditate and all those who are on an exploration for inner peace, claim that this is one of the major causes of suffering.

If it’s bad for us why does the monkey mind have so much power?Well I reckon there are lots of reasons, perhaps the major one is brain or social conditioning. Since childhood we have learned to live our life trying to satisfy other people’s demands. We have learned to live by other people’s points of view because of the fear of not being accepted and of not being good enough for someone else. Not being perfect, we reject ourselves. We are not good enough for ourselves because we don’t fit with our own image of perfection. We judge others according to our images of perfection as well, and they naturally fall short of our expectations. This level of anxiety drive us miles away from any chance of peace.

So what am I gonna do about it?

Firstly I’m going to stop picking up my iPhone, iPad, laptop every night before going to bed to see who wants to be my friend on Facebook, who’s re-tweeted my stuff or whether my friends are really my friends by sending texts or emails.

Secondly, I will take a step back and imagine sitting on a very comfortable sofa, from where I will start to watch my thoughts more. I’m gonna try to be an impartial observer, as casual acquaintance. I’m both a wee bit daunted and curious about this. Through reflection I’ll probably see stuff about myself that I’m not too comfortable with, but I suppose the positive gains may well be more integrity and a truer intelligence, let alone less anxiety behind the veneer?

Hey, I’m under no illusion that this is gonna make me feel like I’m living in a city of angels, but my intention is to open my heart much more to others and the world around me.

So that’s why I’ve started this blog. I am using the word to share my love, beginning with me.

Leave a Reply

